Zimbabwe appoint Sean Williams to lead squad in test series against Afghanistan in absence of seniors

The Zimbabwe cricket team is set to lock the horns with Afghanistan in an upcoming round of T20I and tests. Zimbabwe will tour the United Arab Emirates – the home country of Afghanistan – in March 2021. With a few senior players absent, Zimbabwe have announced the 15-player squad for the next test tour. against the Asian side. Versatile hitter Sean Williams has been selected to lead the tryout team.

Many Zimbabwe cricketers are off tour due to various health issues. Senior batsman Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine are not on the squad as the selectors have chosen Sean Williams to lead the team in redball games.

Chamu Chibhabha was sent off because he suffered from a thigh injury. Likewise, Tendai Chatara suffers an injury to his right arm due to which he has not been able to make up for the streak. Goalkeeper-beater PJ Moor will also be out of action with a hamstring injury.

Sean Williams (Image credits: Twitter)

Due to the absence of the senior players mentioned above, the selectors have recruited few other players into the squad for the tour of Afghanistan. Top-notch drummer Tarisai Musakanda, who last played in a test match against Sri Lanka in 2017, was recalled.

Likewise, mid-tier batsman and part-time spinner Ryan Burl was recalled to the squad. Nurl only played one test against South Africa in December 2017.

Milton shumba
Milton Shumba (Image credits: Twitter)

For T20I matches, the Zimbabwe cricket team will include Milton Shumba, Faraz Akram and Tinashe Kamunhukamwe in the squad. Zimbabwe’s tour of Afghanistan includes two test matches and three T20Is. The first test match will start at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on March 2, followed by the 2nd and 3rd tests at the same venue on March 10 and 17 respectively.

All three T20I matches are scheduled to be played on March 17, 19 and 20. All three matches will be played at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. Here is the complete Zimbabwe team for the Test series.

Zimbabwe last visited Pakistan in October-November 2020. Zimbabwe lost the three-game ODI series 2-1. In the T20Is, Pakistan cleared Zimbabwe in the three T20Is. On the other hand, Afghanistan hosted Ireland in a three-game ODI series. Afghanistan won all three matches, which took place at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi (UAE) in January 2021.

Zimbabwe Test Squad:

Sean Williams (captain), Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza Butt, Prince Masvaure, Brandon Minetsa, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami, Blessing Muzarabani, Kevin Kasuza, Wesley Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Donald Tiripano, Regis Chakabva.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *