West Indies announce provisional 18-member squad for T20I summer against South Africa, Australia and Pakistan

West Indies Cricket (CWI) on Tuesday named an 18-member squad to face South Africa, Australia and Pakistan in the next T20I series which will start from June 26 and last until August 03 of this year. The team is a provisional team and there could be changes in this team given the injuries and the management of the players’ workload.

Kieron Pollard has been named captain of the team that will lead the West Indies in the three bilateral series. Nicholas Pooran, who had a terrible run in the 2021 IPL, has been tasked by the board and named the team’s vice-captain. Veterans such as Dwayne Bravo and Chris Gayle have also been named to the 18-member squad.

Kieron pollard [Image-Getty]

Cricket West Indies announces 18-member squad for T20I summer

CWI Senior Selector Roger Harper explained the idea behind appointing this team. “The T20I Provisional Team was formed with all the T20I Series games in mind against South Africa, Australia and Pakistan. This gives us the opportunity to continue to progress towards the next World Cup and to determine our best team and our ideal eleven.

West Indies
West Indies. Image credits: Twitter

West Indies head coach Phil Simmons is confident for this summer and is looking forward to the World Cup and he commented “These next T20Is are crucial for our preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup. We have assembled a very strong team – with experienced world class match winners and talented and exciting young players, ready to explode onto the world stage and do great things for Caribbean cricket.

“We’re at this point where we’ve identified who we’ll be looking to be the core of the squad to defend our World Cup title, so we want to make sure that the matches ahead create that environment – the way we do. coach, the way we plan, the way we perform and the chemistry within the group. We won five years ago, so the weeks and months ahead will be major milestones on our path to defending our title and being world champions for the third time. he added.

The Antilles T20I Summer to start against the Proteas

The West Indies cricket team will start their T20I Summer Festival against the South Africa Cricket Team. The two teams will play a five-game T20I series starting June 26 at Grenada National Cricket Stadium. Next, the Caribbean will move to Saint Lucia and play a 5-game T20I series against Australia starting July 09.

West Indies
West Indies. Image credits: Twitter

They will then play a series of five T20I matches against Pakistan which starts on July 27 and the last match of the summer will be played on August 03. All matches against Pakistan will be played in Barbados.

Antilles squad: Kieron Pollard (C), Nicholas Pooran (VC), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmeyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy, Evin Lewis, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons , Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *