Vijay Hazare Trophy: Padikkal ton seals the quarters for Karnataka

Karnataka (16 points), who emerged at the top of Group “C” after recording a 10-wicket victory over the railroads, sealed a place in the quarter-finals.

Kerala and Uttar Pradesh – both tied with Karnataka in points but behind on the Net Run Rate – have a very good chance of qualifying. The final list of qualified teams will be clear after the end of the matches in groups “D” and “E” on Monday.

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Hyderabad wins thrilling victory

At M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, it was a dream come out for the Karnataka opening pair of Padikkal and Samarth. Padikkal recorded his third consecutive century, to go with scores of 52 and 97 in the first two matches. The new captain Samarth has elevated his tournament second century, to go with two fifties.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Gujarat, Karnataka and Andhra become first three teams to enter quarter-finals

Kerala comes home

Kerala recorded a resounding nine-wicket victory over Bihar on Sunday to stay in the race for a Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-final

berth. On the ground of Alur (3), Kerala chased the 148 from Bihar in just 8.5 overs. Robin Uthappa (87 no, 32b, 4×4, 10×6), Vishnu Vinod (37, 12b, 2×4, 4×6) and Sanju Samson (24 no, 9b, 2×4, 2×6) threw the kitchen sink at the Bihar bowling alley.

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Andhra qualify for quarters on net race rate

After opting for bowling, Kerala ran through the Bihar line-up. Pacer S. Sreesanth picked up four wickets, while Jalaj Saxena took three scalps.

At Just Cricket Ground, Uttar Pradesh chased Odisha’s 148 in 21.4 overs to stay alive in the competition.

Brief scores

At the M.Chinnaswamy stadium: Railways 284/9; 50 overs (Pratham Singh 129; Shreyas Gopal 3/41, J Suchith 2/72) lost to Karnataka 285 without a loss; 40.3 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 145 not released, Ravikumar Samarth 130 not released) from 10 wickets.

At KSCA Cricket (3) Ground, Alur: Bihar 148 all out; 40.2 overs (Babul Kumar 64; Sreesanth 4/30, Jalaj Saxena 3/30) lost to Kerala 149/1; 8.5 overs (Robin Uthappa 87 not released, Sanju Samson 24 not released) by nine wickets.

At Just Cricket Academy Ground: Odisha 148 all outside; 40.1 overs (Subhranshu Senapati 49 not released, Rakesh Pattnaik 46; Shivam Sharma 6/22) lost to Uttar Pradesh 150/4; 21.4 overs (Upendra Yadav 32, Sameer Choudhary 29 not out) by six wickets.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *