Vijay Hazare Trophy: Padikkal, Mithun guides Karnataka to win against Kerala

Devdutt Padikkal’s undefeated 126 (138b, 13×4, 2×6) and the five-wicket carry of A. Mithun (5/52) were the highlights as Karnataka came up with another powerful performance to beat Kerala by nine wickets in an Elite Group C Vijay Friday Hazare Trophy meet at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh and Kerala are now stuck in a triple tie at the top with 12 points each, with the final round of matches scheduled for Sunday.

In pursuit of 278, the home side came home with more than four overs to spare. Padikkal scored 99 points for the opening wicket with R. Samarth (62, 51b, 10×4) before combining with KV Siddharth (86 no, 84b, 5×4, 3×6) for an unbroken grandstand of 180 points winning.

S. Sreesanth and Jalaj Saxena were economical, bowling a combined 18 overs for 74 runs. But all the other bowlers were taken to the cleaners, with MD Nidheesh proving the costliest, conceding 58 of seven overs.


Previously, Kerala, who had been asked to beat first, had lost batsmen Robin Uthappa (0) and Sanju Samson (3) with just four points on the board before Vishnu Vinod (29, 48g, 3×4, 1×6) stabilized the sleeves in the company. by Vathsal Govind (95, 124b, 7×4, 1×6).

The latter was involved in two crucial partnerships – 114 races for the fourth wicket with Sachin Baby (54, 63b, 2×4, 1×6) and 50 races for the fifth with Mohammed Azharuddeen (59 no, 38b, 2×4, 3×6).

However, Mithun removed Vathsal, Baby, and Saxena to prevent Kerala from going berserk in the end. Azharuddeen made sure his team’s total was competitive, but the Karnataka batsmen disagreed.

Summary Notes

At M Chinnaswamy stadium: Kerala 277/8; 50 overs (Vathsal Govind 95, Mohammed Azharuddeen 59 not released, Sachin Baby 54; Abhimanyu Mithun 5/52) lost to Karnataka 279/1; 45.3 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 126 not released, Krishnamurthy Siddharth 86 not released, Ravikumar Samarth 62) by nine wickets.

At KSCA Cricket (3) Ground, Alur: Uttar Pradesh 346/6; 50 overs (Priyam Garg 115, Akshdeep Nath 93; Ananta Saha 3/66) beat the railways 276; 46.1 overs (Shivam Chaudhary 107, Saurabh Singh 51; Shivam Mavi 4/51, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/49) by 70 points.

At KSCA Cricket (2) Ground, Alur: Bihar 255/7; 50 overs (Babul Kumar 78, Sakibul Gani 48; Shantanu Mishra 3/46) lost against Odisha 258/3; 48.1 overs (Shantanu Mishra 76, Sandeep Pattnaik 64, Kartik Biswal 53 not released, Ankit Yadav 43 not released) through seven wickets.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *