The 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to be held in India; New Zealand to host ICC ODI Women’s World Cup in 2022

  • The next edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will take place in India.

  • The ICC Women’s 50th World Cup has been postponed to 2022.

The 2021 T20 World Cup will take place in India while Australia, which was scheduled to host the tournament this year in October-November, will now host the 2022 edition of the ICC event.

India will also host the ODI World Cup in 2023. In 2011, India co-hosted the tournament with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

The decisions were made by the International Business Corporation (IBC), the business development wing of ICC, at a virtual conference Friday.

In July, the ICC postponed the 2020 T20 World Cup due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The supreme cricket body had confirmed that the tournament would be played in 2021 and 2022, but did not name the hosts.

According to a PTI report, BCCI and Cricket Australia have mutually agreed to let India host the next ICC event. The two councils share an excellent rapport and Australia will be the first nation where Team India plays its first international series since March.

It will be after a long gap of five years that the West Indies will defend their title, which they won at Eden Gardens by beating England in the final in 2016.

Previously, ICC used to host the event every two years, but the board decided to hold two consecutive tournaments in 2020 and 2021.

At the same time, the ODI ICC Women’s World Cup has also been postponed to 2022. The 50-year-old Women’s World Cup was to be held in New Zealand from February 6 to March 7, 2021. In the previous edition, England and India had played the final at Lord’s Cricket Ground and the hosts came out victorious.

Meanwhile, no discussion took place regarding the ICC test world championship final underway in the meeting. According to the initial schedule, the tournament final was to be played in June 2021.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *