SunRisers Hyderabad sacks David Warner, appoints Kane Williamson as captain

The SunRisers Hyderabad made a shocking decision in the middle of the 2021 IPL, removing David Warner from the captain’s post following their horror run. With just one win in six games, the SunRisers Hyderabad fell to the bottom of the points table. Going forward, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson will lead the squad and take the spot in the SunRisers’ next game against the Rajasthan Royals.

Read also: Mohammad Yousuf believes Virat Kohli will soon end his century of drought

David Warner, under whom the SunRisers Hyderabad won the trophy in 2016, struggled to lead forward, with his batting form taking a hit as well. The left-handed batsman has so far scored two fifties in the 2021 IPL, the second against the Chennai Super Kings recently and has come under heavy criticism. Warner’s 57 resulted in 55 deliveries, with three fours and two sixes while the Orange Army finished with 171.

Kane Williamson (Image credit: Twitter)

It turned out to be a lot less important and the SunRisers could have done with more if Warner hadn’t struggled to shift gears. Meanwhile, Kane Williamson has delivered hard-hitting performances in all three matches he has played so far, including scoring an unbeaten 66 against the Delhi Capitals and a quick shot 26 against the Super Kings. Williamson also has a compelling captain record, leading them to the 2018 edition finals and a year in which he also finished as the top run-getter with 735 races.

Below is the official confirmation of SunRisers Hyderabad’s official Twitter handle:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *