Salil Ankola retained as chief coach of Mumbai

Salil Ankola has been retained as chief coach while Sunil More has been recalled to Mumbai’s senior selection panel for the upcoming national season.

Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) Secretary Sanjay Naik confirmed on Monday that the Cricket Improvement Committee (CIC) headed by former batsman Jatin Paranjape had finalized the list of all selection boards after interviewing all candidates who had applied for the positions.

Former Indian coach Ankola, who returned to Mumbai cricket after more than two decades before the last domestic season, was the only one to have persisted in last season’s panel. All other members indirectly revolted against the creation of the Mumbai Cricket Association, alleging interference in the selection by officials.

Mumbai Cricket Association extends Tory contracts

More, meanwhile, is back on the selection board after two years. Former Ranji Trophy champion was part of the selection committee led by Ajit Agarkar who resigned under controversial circumstances in March 2019.

After finishing bottom of the group in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the start of last season, Mumbai staged a dramatic turnaround to lift the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The other members of the selection panel are former Test drummer Ghulam Parkar, former coach Prasad Desai and Anand Yalvigi, who made his first class debut for Mumbai before winning the Ranji Trophy for Karnataka.

Former Mumbai captain and eight-time Ranji champion Amol Muzumdar has been appointed head coach for the season.

Selection committees:

Seniors and Under 23: Salil Ankola (President), Ghulam Parkar, Sunil More, Prasad Desai, Anand Yalvigi.

Under 19: Atul Ranade (President), Mayur Kadrekar, Piyush Soneji, Vikrant Yeligatti, Bharat Karnik.

Under 16: Mandar Phadke (President), Iqbal Thakur, Suresh Shetty, Faisal Shaikh, Sachin Khartade.

Under 14: Jayprakash Jadhav (President), Umesh Gotkhindikar, Mangesh Darekar, Ravi Gadiyar, Sudhakar Harmalkar.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *