Ruturaj Gaikwad to lead Maharashtra 20-member squad in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad will lead a 20-member team from Maharashtra in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy, the state cricket association said on Saturday.

The Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) announced their squad for the ODI National Championship, starting February 20, on their Twitter account.

Rurutaj, 24, an upcoming opener, caught the eye of last year’s Indian Premier League (IPL), when he was playing for the Chennai Super Kings.

Besides Ruturaj, the batting department includes the experienced Kedar Jadhav, Rahul Tripathi, Ankeet Bawane, Naushad Shaikh, while Nikhil Naik and Vishant More have been named as the two stumpers.

The bowling attack will feature Orthodox slow left arm spinners Satyajeet Bachhav, Jagdish Zope, pacers Ashay Palkar, Manoj Ingle, Pradeep Dadhe and left speedster Mukesh Choudhary.

Maharashtra is placed in elite Group D for the tournament with Delhi, Mumbai, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and Pondicherry and will play their matches in Jaipur.

Their campaign begins against Himachal Pradesh on February 21.

Team: Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Rahul Tripathi, Ankeet Bawane, Naushad Shaikh, Kedar Jadhav, Azim Kazi, Nikhil Naik (WK), Vishant More (WK), Satyajeet Bachhav, Ashay Palkar, Taranjeet Singh Dhillon, Shamshoukesjéjékryhé, Ingle, Rajyavardhan Hangargekar, Jagdish Zope, Yash Nahar, Yash Kshirsagar, Ranjeet Nikam. Head Coach: Santosh Jedhe.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *