Rajasthan Royals set to release Steve Smith for IPL 2021

Smith’s ineffectiveness, both as a leader and a batsman, was highlighted in a season review conducted by the Royals.

Steve Smith. (Photo source: IPL / BCCI)

The Rajasthan Royals are expected to release Steve Smith ahead of the 2021 Indian Premier League auction. The Royals are expected to make a decision in a short period of time as the deadline for submitting the list of successful players is expected. is January 20. One of the main reasons RR doesn’t persist with Smith is his upside down form in the previous edition where the team finished low in the table.

Smith started the tournament in his early fifties, taking his team to victories over Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab at Sharjah Cricket Stadium. However, from there the Royals got completely lost and so was Smith. The right-hander had quite a few single-digit scores and finished with 311 runs at an average and a strike rate of 25.91 and 131.22 respectively.

Steve Smith does not meet RR’s expectations

According to reports in ESPNcricinfo, franchise management has asked the Royals to be more consistent in the fight for the playoffs. His ineffectiveness, both as a leader and a batter, was highlighted in a season review conducted by the Royals. In the previous edition of the IPL, the Smith and Royals, born in New South Wales, struggled to play in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

Ahead of the 2018 auction, the Royals held Smith back for a massive INR 12.5 crore, which at the time translated into around $ 1.953 million. The team named him captain, but the right-hander resigned after the infamous Newlands ball tampering scandal in Cape Town. However, in 2019, Smith returned to captain after Ajinkya Rahane was sacked.

If the Royals freed Smith, they would be in a conundrum of selecting a new skipper. In that case, they could go for Sanju Samson, who has been one of their impact players in recent seasons. Samson recently led Kerala in their first match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy.

The Royals began their IPL stint, taking victory in 2008 under the management of the former Australian player. Shane Warne. However, from there, starting on their own winning the championship, they only qualified for the playoffs three times in 2013, 2015 and 2018.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *