Rajasthan Royals (RR) retained, released players and remaining purse prior to auction

Sanju Samson has been named skipper of the Royals.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is another franchise that had some of the best players on its squad for IPL 2020 but couldn’t go the distance. On the contrary, under the leadership of Steve Smith, they found themselves at the bottom of the points table despite a strong start with two trotting wins in Sharjah. After reviewing the season’s performance, the franchise decided to release Smith, which is huge news.

Steve Smith played all 14 games for the Royals last season and could only muster 311 points at a 131 strike rate with three-fifty. He was inconsistent in most cases and a few of his decisions were also taken into account during the tournament. The Royals have now appointed Sanju Samson as the new captain of the 2021 edition of the T20 extravagance.

The franchise has decided to keep the three other top foreign players, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Jofra Archer, which is no surprise. All three players are full winners, and the captain’s hat can also be awarded to Stokes or Buttler.

Tom Curran and Varun Aaron also posted

Other released players Ankit Rajpoot, Oshane Thomas, Varun Aaron and Tom Curran are also on the list while David Miller has been retained. The South African only had one lonely game to play last season and passed out without playing a single ball to warm the bench again. Kartik Tyagi, who was with the Indian team in Australia for the entire tour, was also retained while stimulator Ankit Rajpoot was dropped by the franchise.

List of RR players selected

R Uthappa, M Lomror, M Vohra, R Parag, M Markande, S Gopal, J Unadkat, K Tyagi, R Tewatia, Y Jaiswal, S Samson, A Rawat, D Miller, J Archer, A Tye, B Stokes, J Buttler .

List of RR players released

Steve Smith, A Rajpoot, O Thomas, A Singh, V Aaron, Tom Curran, A Joshi, S Singh

Scholarship available

Rs 34.85 crore

Rajasthan Royals (RR) retained, released players and remaining purse prior to auction

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *