Mary Kom and Manpreet Singh to be India Flag Bearers for Tokyo Games Opening Ceremony | Tokyo Olympic Games News

NEW DELHI: Legendary six-time world champion MC Mary Kom and captain of the men’s hockey team Manpreet Singh will be the Indian flag bearers for the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics on July 23, announced Monday the Indian Olympic Association (IOA).
World Championships silver medalist Bajrang Punia will be the country’s flag bearer for the closing ceremony on August 8.
The official size of the Indian contingent will be around 126 athletes and 75 officials, for a total of 201.
The Indian contingent comprises 56% male athletes and 44% female athletes, the IOA informed.
The contingent has 78 quota places and athletes will compete in approximately 85 medal positions.
It will be the swansong Olympics of Mary Kom, who won bronze at the London Games in 2012. For Manpreet, he will play his third Olympic Games after representing the country at the London 2012 and 2016 Games in Rio. . Reigning Commonwealth and Asian Games champion Bajrang will compete in his first Olympics.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *