IPL Kings XI Punjab franchise is now Punjab Kings

The Punjab Kings XI were renamed as the Punjab Kings on Wednesday ahead of the 2021 IPL auction Thursday in Chennai.

PTI had announced the name change on February 15. A new logo was also unveiled on Wednesday.

Speaking about the new brand identity, Team CEO Satish Menon said, “Punjab Kings is a more evolved brand name and we understand that the time has come for us to focus on the main brand itself. even.

“The brand identity change is not about changing our brand ethics, but about celebrating our uniqueness while we are in unity as a family. The new logo pays homage to the liveliness and dynamism of the brand and brings modern elements, while setting us apart from the rest of the teams.

Punjab Kings logo

The franchise, jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul, has yet to win an IPL title since the event’s inaugural edition in 2008.

In the tournament’s 13-year history, the Kings have been a finalist once (2014) and secured a third place on another occasion (2008). They finished sixth in the 2020 edition, held in the United Arab Emirates.

The next IPL is scheduled to start the second week of April.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *