Indian team for Sri Lanka series: Shikhar Dhawan to lead 20-member contingent

BCCI’s senior selection committee on Thursday announced a limited 20-member Indian team for the Sri Lanka tour in July. Shikhar Dhawan will lead the team in the absence of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

India Team: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Pandytham, Krunal Gowytham, , Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

The men in blue will play three ODIs and three T20Is against the hosts at the R Premadasa International Stadium in Colombo. The ODI will take place on July 13, 16 and 18 while the T20I will be played on July 21, 23 and 25.

In total, six new players have been added to the squad: Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Krishnappa Gowtham, Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy and Nitish Rana. A total of five net throwers have also been added – Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simranjeeet Singh.

Net players: Ishan Porel, Warrior Sandeep, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

On the other hand, the Indian contingent of red balloons are currently in England, where they are preparing for the final of the ICC World Test Championship which will be played against New Zealand from June 18 to 22 at Rose Bowl Stadium in Southampton.

After the top clash, the team will stay behind to play five tests against England.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *