India vs England 2021 test run: full schedule, schedules, team updates

More than a month has passed since India lost the final of the first ICC World Testing Championship (WTC). As New Zealand tasted success after an endless wait, Virat Kohli’s men quietly dispersed for a short break in the UK before regrouping in Durham to restart the second edition of the World Trial Championship, from August 4.

The series will mark the only five-game series in the two-year cycle alongside the Ashes later this year. The first test will be played in Nottingham.

Here are all the details to know before the clash between Kohli’s India and Joe Root’s England.

READ: Playoffs against India will determine where we are now, says England spinner Leach

When and where will the matches be played?

The five-game test series will begin on August 4 in Nottingham with the broad series set to end with the final test taking place from September 10-14.

  • August 4-8, 2021: 1st test at Trent Bridge, Nottingham – 3:30 p.m. IST
  • 12-16 August 2021: 2nd test at Lord’s, London – 3:30 p.m. IST
  • 25-29 August 2021: 3rd test at Headingley, Leeds – 3:30 p.m. IST
  • 2-6 September 2021: 4th test at The Oval, London – 3:30 p.m. IST
  • 10-14 September 2021: 5th test at Old Trafford, Manchester – 3:30 p.m. IST

What’s at stake

With the five-game test series marking the start of the second WTC, the No.2-ranked Indian team will face the fourth-ranked English team for a total of 60 points – with each test victory awarding 12 points, six for a draw and four for a draw.

In addition to the championship points at stake, India and England will compete for the Pataudi Trophy which was created for the time in 2007 in honor of Iftikhar Ali Pataudi (the only player to feature both for the ‘England and India in the tests) and his son Mansoor Ali. Khan Pataudi who remains India’s youngest test captain to this day.

The upcoming series marks the fifth edition of the Pataudi Trophy since 2007. India’s Rahul Dravid team won the inaugural edition before England dominated the next three series in 2011, 2014, 2018 – winning all of them. them convincingly.

READ: India vs England test run: Glad I learned from my mistakes, says Rishabh Pant

Will spectators be allowed for the Test Series?

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson on July 5 announced the lifting of COVID-related restrictions, with sports stadiums allowed to host matches at full capacity from July 19. Therefore, as it stands, the Test Series will be played out in front of full crowds at all five venues. Across the country.

Which ball will be used for the Test Series?

The five events will be played with the Dukes’ dark ball. Unlike SG balls (used in India) and Kookaburra (used in Australia), Dukes hold their shape longer with a more pronounced seam. The extra grip on the ball makes it suitable for swing bowling in favorable conditions in England while also posing a tall order for hitters.

Squads for the series

INDIA team: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami , Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Suryakumar Yadav (to join), Prithvi Shaw (to join)

Waiting players: Prasidh Krishna, Arzan Nagwaswalla

England team: Joe Root (c), Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Jos Buttler, Mark Wood, Sam Curran, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson , Craig Overton

READ: Ben Stokes takes indefinite hiatus to focus on mental health, to miss test run against India

Where to watch India vs England Test series live?

The India vs England test series will be broadcast on the Sony Sports network and streamed live on Sony Live and Jio TV.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *