Following discussions with the BCCI, CPL will now operate from August 26 to September 15 | Cricket News

GROS ISLET: Following discussions between the Cricket Control Council of India (BCCI), the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and Cricket West Indies (CWI), the dates for this year’s T20 tournament have been changed .
CPL will now start on August 26 and end on September 15.
“This year’s tournament will be played in Saint Kitts and Nevis and all 33 games will be held in Warner Park,” an official statement said.
Previously, West Indies Cricket President Ricky Skerritt had confirmed that CWI, the Cricket Control Council of India (BCCI) and the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) were in talks for a modified CPL schedule to accommodate the second phase. of the Indian Premier League (IPL).
CPL, which was originally scheduled to start on August 28, will now be played in Saint Kitts and Nevis between August 26 and September 15.
“Both IPL and CPL are important to CWI, to our cricketers and to the fans. CWI’s role was to facilitate arrangements for a seamless and smooth transition from tournament to tournament. Cricket administrators must work together if cricket is to survive the risks and costs of Covid-19, ”Skerritt noted in an official statement from CWI.
The 33 matches of CPL 2021 will be played at Warner Park with a maximum capacity of 50% for vaccinated spectators.
Meanwhile, IPL franchises are also confident that BCCI will engage in positive discussions with all overseas boards and make players available for the remaining games.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *