Dasun Shanaka to replace Kusal Perera as limited-series captain against India: Reports | Cricket News

COLOMBO: Versatile Dasun Shanaka is set to replace Kusal Perera as captain of the Sri Lankan limited-series squad ahead of the ODI and T20 series against India, starting July 13.
The 29-year-old, explosive batsman and bowler, will become Sri Lanka’s sixth captain in less than four years if he gets the job.
Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Dimuth Karunaratne and Perera had been team captains at some point since the start of 2018.
Shanaka had led the national team when it swept Pakistan in a T20I three-game series in 2019.
According to an ESPNcricinfo report, “the change of captain is only partly a consequence of performance on the pitch.”
“Although Sri Lanka have comfortably lost all three series they have played under Perera, the board and coaches replaced him after he was seen as having played a central role in the stalemate. contracts between the players and the board, over the past few months, ”the report said.
Sri Lankan players were stuck in a long-running row with the country’s Cricket Council (SLC) over domestic contracts which ended on Wednesday after 29 of 30 players signed up for the Indian series.
It is believed that Perera was the one who “encouraged the group to keep on holding on”, while “Shanaka, it seems, was among the first to agree to sign Sri Lanka Cricket touring contracts”.
“According to some players, the group decided early Tuesday to continue challenging the board. However, some players – Shanaka included – signed the contracts soon after,” the report said.
As part of SLC’s performance-based compensation plan, 24 of the major players were offered contracts in four categories.
Only six players were in Category A, and their annual salaries ranged from $ 70,000 to $ 100,000.
Players felt that the plan lacked transparency and that the proposed salary would be well below the approved salary ranges of the Federation of International Cricket Associations (FICA).
Angelo Mathews, the oldest of the current generation of players, and Tests captain Dimuth Karunaratne found themselves excluded from the contracts offered on Wednesday morning.
Soon after, Mathews withdrew from the Indian series for personal reasons and also hinted at retirement.
India will play three ODIs on July 13, 16 and 18 respectively, followed by an equal number of T20I on July 21, 23 and 25. All matches will be played at the R Premadasa Stadium here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *