‘Catch of the Tournament’ Ben Laughlin catches a one-handed howler in BBL 10 Eliminator

In the eliminator of the current Big Bash League (BBL) 2020-21 Between Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers, Ben Laughlin produced magic on the pitch by grabbing an absolute stunner.

It all happened 18th in the Strikers heats Marnus Labuschagne when Michael Neser tried to play a slog towards the edge of the corner of the cow at the Gabba.

Neser swept a big low blow that was thrown on the outside. However, he mis-timed the ball that went into the sky near the deep midwicket area. Laughlin ran from the middle and launched forward, to pluck a one-handed feel.

On-air commentators Mark Waugh and Adam gilchrist was of the opinion that they had just witnessed the best catch of the whole season.

“It could be, if not the best of this season, one of the best in the competition,” Gilchrist says of Fox cricket.

“My god, that’s good. It will get better and better as you watch this. If this happens in America, they will be amazed ”. said Waugh.

“It’s right up there with the best ever I think,” he added.

Here is the video:

Heat records victory over the Strikers

In the game, Heat’s disciplined bowling never really allowed the Strikers to freely score points. Philip salt scored the maximum of 26 points as the Strikers were only able to score 130/7 on the scoreboard.

Labuschagne shone from the first rounds with the ball. He picked up three wickets for 13 races in 3 overs. Aside from Neser, the Australian star fired the Strikers skipper Travis Head (12) and salt.

Mitchell Swepson pocketed two scalps for 23 races in his 4-overs quota while, Morne Morkel got a wicket for 31 in 4 overs.

In response, Heat chased the paltry target in 18.5 overs with six wickets in hand. Joe denly scored 41 at the top before Danny briggs removed it. Labuschagne, who impressed with the ball, didn’t make a big contribution with the willow. He scored 6 points and was fired by Wes agar.

Jimmy pierson and Joe burns went undefeated with scores of 47 and 17 respectively to take their side at the finish line.

For the strikers, Peter Siddle, Agar, Neser, and Briggs all claimed a wicket each.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *