BCCI allows franchises to retain four players ahead of IPL 2022 mega-auction

Two new teams are expected to be added in IPL 2022.

Kolkata Knight Riders auction table. (Photo source: Twitter)

While the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is not yet over, the Cricket Control Council in India (BCCI) have started their preparation for the 2022 season. The T20 gala league will undergo many transitions next season, which also includes an expansion of the tournament. Two new franchises are expected to emerge, making the IPL a 10-team event. Therefore, it would be interesting to see what the change in the system will entail.

For the uninformed, more than eight teams have already participated in the IPL. The 2011 season also saw 10 teams battle for the prestigious title while the next two editions were a nine-team event. The competition was further reduced to eight teams during the 2014 season and since then there has been no change in the number of teams. However, the dynamics are set to change again for the coming season.

Notably, BCCI is also planning to conduct a mega-auction for IPL 2022, which would see all existing parts being overhauled. The Indian Cricket Council has reportedly finalized the player retention rules. Previously, three players were allowed to hold while there were two right-to-match (RTM) options.

Player loyalty for IPL 2022

According to The Times of India, however, four players can be retained by each franchise before the 2022 tender. However, the condition is either that a team can retain three Indians and one foreign player, or two Indians and as many. foreign stars.

Speaking of the 2021 competition, the gala tournament was scheduled to take place in April-May. However, the widespread COVID-19 virus forced the BCCI to suspend the tournament mid-term on May 4. The remaining matches will now take place in the United Arab Emirates in September and October. However, things won’t be easy for many teams as several foreign stars are set to pull out of the tournament with the T20 World Cup starting days after. IPL conclusion.

Meanwhile, the Delhi Capitals under Rishabh Pant led the team standings at the time of the season suspension with six wins in eight games. While the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Chennai Super Kings have each won five of their seven matches, the defending MI champions have crossed the line four times out of seven. These four teams are the favorites to secure a playoff spot and it would be interesting to see if any major events take place.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *