Azhar is part of BCCI committee to resolve player compensation issue

The Cricket Control Board in India (BCCI) has formed a committee of seven members which will find an appropriate compensation mechanism for domestic cricketers. The committee covers the six zones of the country and consists of former Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin and Santosh Menon (south zone), Rohan Jaitley (north zone), Avishek Dalmiya (east zone), Jaydev Shah (west zone), Yudhvir Singh (Central Zone) and Devajit Saikia (North-East Zone).

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said in his letter to State Associations on Saturday: “This is to inform you that the Cricket Control Council in India (BCCI) has formed a working group made up of member associations. , including former cricketers, for domestic cricket in India. “

The committee will seek to find a way to compensate players who lost financially last season due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The Indian board of directors only managed to host two domestic tournaments last year – the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament. The BCCI had promised the players that the council would financially support the national players who lost a lot of income since there were no tournaments.

Senior BCCI officials have suggested doubling the match fee for the next season. However, it will be up to this committee to find a way to remunerate the players.

At its last Apex Council meeting, the BCCI decided to form a committee to review compensation for domestic cricketers.

“The Apex Council has decided to form a committee to look into the issue of compensation for Indian national cricketers for the 2020 and 2021 national seasons. The Apex Council has mandated the BCCI Office Bearers to form the committee and find a appropriate compensation mechanism for domestic cricketers as soon as possible, ”Shah said in a press release.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *